Head-to-head · 9 MIN READ

Profound vs Scrunch AI

Markdown
Profound vs Scrunch AI

The short answer

In a Profound vs Scrunch AI choice, Profound is the independent, enterprise-first AEO platform: real user prompt data, content agents, up to nine engines, demo-gated pricing after a free trial. Scrunch AI, now owned by Sitecore, is the monitoring-led pick from $250/month, with Agent Pages that serve AI-optimized pages to bots. In a Profound vs Scrunch AI for AEO choice, both track brand visibility in ChatGPT, Gemini, and Google AI Overviews and log AI crawler traffic that GA4 misses; Profound lists more native CDN integrations.

Profound fits Enterprise teams that want scale, independence, and content workflows

If you need the broader top-end engine list (up to nine engines on Enterprise, including DeepSeek and Exa Search), demand-side “Prompt Volumes” data on what people actually ask AI, an autonomous content layer (AI Marketer and Agents) that can draft fixes, the widest native CDN integrations, and SOC 2, Profound’s scale and funding back that roadmap. Pricing is demo-gated: a free Trial, then a custom Enterprise quote with no paid self-serve tier.

Scrunch AI fits Teams that want multi-engine coverage on the entry tier

If your priority is published pricing from $250/month, seven platforms named on the Starter tier, built-in site audits, and Agent Pages that serve AI-optimized pages to detected bots via the Agent Experience Platform (AXP), Scrunch AI is the sharper pick. Some regions see a single $250/mo Core plan instead of Starter and Growth. Factor in that it is now a Sitecore company, which helps if you run Sitecore and adds roadmap risk if you do not.

At a glance

Profound Scrunch AI
Founded / Vendor Profound Inc. (tryprofound.com), founded 2024, independent Scrunch AI (scrunch.com), founded 2023, launched Nov 2024, acquired by Sitecore June 2026
HQ / Offices New York, NY, plus San Francisco, London, Buenos Aires Salt Lake City, UT
Funding / Ownership $335M total raised; $180M Series D at a $1.8B valuation (Sep 2026, Sequoia and Kleiner Perkins) $19M in disclosed rounds ($26M per Scrunch's about page); acquired by Sitecore June 2026 for a reported $225M
Starting price Free Trial (50 prompts for 7 days; ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews), then custom Enterprise (checked October 2026) $250/mo annual (Starter, 7 platforms listed) or $300/mo month to month (some regions show a single $250/mo Core plan, 125 prompts, 4 engines)
Public rating G2 4.5/5 (1,136, read October 2026); TrustRadius 8.5/10 (13) G2 4.6/5 (73, last read September 2026); TrustRadius 0
Best for Enterprise scale, DeepSeek and Exa Search coverage, agentic content workflows Full platform list on the entry tier, Agent Pages for AI bots, Sitecore stacks

Vendor profile

Profound

AEO platform · founded 2024 · New York with SF, London, Buenos Aires offices

Profound is an independent, enterprise-focused AI search platform that tracks how brands appear in AI answers and runs AI Marketer agents on that data. It was founded in 2024 by James Cadwallader (CEO) and Dylan Babbs (CTO, previously a design engineer on Uber Maps). In September 2026 it raised a $180M Series D at a $1.8B valuation, co-led by Sequoia and Kleiner Perkins with Lightspeed, Khosla, Saga, Evantic, and South Park Commons, taking reported total funding to $335M. The platform tracks brand representation across up to nine engines on Enterprise (ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Copilot, DeepSeek, Claude, Google AI Overviews, and Exa Search) and adds “Prompt Volumes” demand-side data, an “Agent Analytics” module that reads server logs and CDN traffic to detect AI crawler activity GA4 misses, and autonomous Agents that can draft content. Named customers include Ramp, Figma, MongoDB, Target, Walmart, and DocuSign; the company states it serves 1,000+ enterprise brands, over a third of the Fortune 100, and 16% of the Fortune 500 (vendor-reported). G2 shows 4.5/5 across 1,136 reviews (read October 2026) and TrustRadius 8.5/10 across 13 ratings; Capterra shows 0 reviews for Profound.

Founded
2024
HQ
New York, NY, plus SF, London, Buenos Aires
Founders
James Cadwallader (CEO), Dylan Babbs (CTO)
Team
Not stated publicly
Funding
$335M total raised; $180M Series D at $1.8B valuation (Sep 2026)
Ownership
Independent, venture-backed
Notable clients
Ramp, Figma, MongoDB, Target, Walmart, DocuSign, Plaid, Deel
Public rating
G2 4.5/5 (1,136, read October 2026); TrustRadius 8.5/10 (13); 0 on Capterra
Awards
  • G2 Winter 2026 "Definitive Leader" in the AEO category (per Profound's own announcement)
Certifications
  • SOC 2 Type II (stated on Profound's feature and pricing pages)

Scrunch AI

AEO platform · founded 2023 · Salt Lake City, UT · a Sitecore company since June 2026

Scrunch AI is an AI search visibility platform, now part of Sitecore, that monitors how brands appear in AI answers and serves AI-optimized pages to AI agents through its Agent Experience Platform (AXP). It was founded in 2023 by Chris Andrew (CEO) and Robert MacCloy (CTO), publicly launching the product in November 2024. It raised $19M across disclosed rounds, including a $15M Series A in July 2025 led by Decibel on top of an earlier seed round backed by Mayfield and angels; Scrunch’s about page now states $26M raised. In June 2026 the company was acquired by the digital-experience vendor Sitecore for a reported $225M (Bloomberg’s figure; Sitecore did not disclose terms), and Sitecore has said existing Scrunch customers can keep using it as a standalone product while Scrunch-driven features are folded into the Sitecore platform over time. Scrunch’s clearest technical differentiator is Agent Pages, part of AXP and generally available since 22 September 2026, which serves an optimized, code-light version of pages to detected AI bots at the network edge. Its native Agent Traffic integrations cover Cloudflare, WordPress, Vercel, Akamai, and a Custom API, with Webflow, Shopify, and BigCommerce handled through a Cloudflare proxy. Its FAQ lists eight supported platforms today, with Grok marked as coming soon, and it has completed a SOC 2 Type II audit. Named customers include Lenovo, BairesDev, Clerk, Skims, and Penn State University; the company states 500+ companies and agencies use the platform. G2 shows 4.6/5 across 73 reviews (G2 product page, last read September 2026); TrustRadius and Capterra both show 0 reviews.

Founded
2023 (launched Nov 2024)
HQ
Salt Lake City, UT
Founders
Chris Andrew (CEO), Robert MacCloy (CTO)
Team
Not stated publicly
Funding
$19M disclosed in rounds; $26M per Scrunch’s about page
Ownership
Acquired by Sitecore, June 2026, reported $225M
Notable clients
Lenovo, BairesDev, Clerk, Skims, Penn State University
Public rating
G2 4.6/5 (73, last read September 2026); 0 on Capterra and TrustRadius
Certifications
  • SOC 2 Type II (audit confirmed in Scrunch's own FAQ)

Pricing: what you'll actually pay

Pricing was checked October 2026. Scrunch AI publishes Starter and Growth prices (annual or monthly) plus a custom Enterprise plan; Profound now lists a free Trial and a custom Enterprise plan with no paid self-serve tier. One caveat: Scrunch’s page shows a single $250/mo Core plan in some regions instead of Starter and Growth.

Profound Scrunch AI
Starting price Free Trial (50 prompts for 7 days; ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews), then custom Enterprise (checked October 2026) $250/mo annual, $300/mo monthly (Starter, 7 platforms, 350 custom + 1,000 industry prompts, 3 seats); some regions show a single $250/mo Core plan (125 prompts, 4 engines)
First genuine multi-engine tier None published (no paid self-serve tier) Included at Starter ($250 to $300/mo, 7 platforms)
Mid tier No paid self-serve tier; agency client workspaces sit on a separate Agency Growth plan (price not published) Growth, $417/mo annual, $500/mo monthly (same platform list, 700 custom + 2,500 industry prompts, 5 personas)
Enterprise tier Custom, demo-gated (up to 9 engines, SSO/SAML, SOC 2, API, CSV/JSON exports, all-time history, ChatGPT Shopping; support by email, dedicated Slack, or specialist with 24h SLA) Custom (SAML/OIDC, Enterprise Data API, dedicated GTM team)
Add-on cost structure AI Marketer and Agents run on credits (Limited on Trial, Custom on Enterprise) Extra seat $25/mo; no other add-ons noted
Billing flexibility No published prices; Enterprise is quote-based Both annual and month-to-month prices published (17% annual discount)
Free trial Free Trial (50 prompts, 7 days, 3 engines) 7-day free trial
Agency plans Agency Growth (credits per client workspace; price not published on the pricing page) Agency Core $500/mo (seen only on the non-US layout)

Capability comparison

Both platforms cover the AEO core: multi-engine visibility monitoring, brand/citation tracking, and detection of AI crawler traffic that GA4 misses. The gaps are narrower than the marketing suggests. Both detect AI crawler traffic, but Profound lists wider native CDN integrations and the only engine list that includes DeepSeek and Exa Search; Scrunch AI built out Agent Pages that serve AI-optimized pages to bots and publishes pricing from the entry tier.

Service Profound Scrunch AI
Top-tier engine list ✓ (up to 9 on Enterprise, incl. DeepSeek and Exa Search) ~ (8 to 9; Grok listed on the pricing page, coming soon in the FAQ; incl. Meta AI)
Entry-tier engine coverage ~ (free Trial: ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews; no paid tier) ✓ (Starter lists 7 platforms; non-US Core lists 4)
Brand/citation/sentiment monitoring ✓ ✓
Demand-side prompt-volume data ✓ (“Prompt Volumes”) ~ (“AI Search Trends”, topic-level, not a real user-prompt panel)
Autonomous content drafting and CMS publish ✓ (AI Marketer and Agents) ✕ (monitoring and edge-serving rather than content authoring)
CDN/edge AI bot-traffic detection ✓ (“Agent Analytics”: server logs plus Akamai, AWS, Cloudflare, Fastly, GCP, Netlify, Vercel, WordPress, Google Analytics) ✓ (native Cloudflare, WordPress, Vercel, Akamai, Custom API)
Bot-optimized page delivery at the edge ✕ (recommendations only, no edge-served variant) ✓ (Agent Pages, AXP, Enterprise)
Free trial ✓ (free Trial: 50 prompts for 7 days, 3 engines) ✓ (7-day free trial, no card on audit tool)
Seats ✓ (unlimited on Trial and Enterprise) ~ (3 on Starter, 5 on Growth; extra seat $25/mo; 5 on non-US Core)
Data refresh and history ✓ (daily frequency, all-time history on Enterprise; none on Trial) ~ (new prompts daily for 14 days then every 72 hours; retention not stated publicly)
Support and onboarding ✓ (Enterprise: email, dedicated Slack, or specialist with 24h SLA; none on Trial) ✓ (email plus ~30-min onboarding and Customer Success on Starter/Growth; dedicated team on Enterprise)
SOC 2 Type II ✓ (stated on feature and pricing pages) ✓ (audit confirmed in vendor FAQ)
Native Slack alerting ✓ ~ (not confirmed in public materials)
Enterprise data API ✓ (documented REST API, Enterprise tier, beta on request) ✓ (Enterprise Data API)
SSO / SAML ✓ (Enterprise tier) ✓ (Enterprise tier, SAML 2.0/OIDC, Okta, Entra ID)
Independent vendor (not owned by a DXP suite) ✓ ✕ (Sitecore company since June 2026)

Decision matrix - who fits which side

This Profound vs Scrunch AI matrix maps each need to the stronger pick, so you can scan to the side that fits.

Criterion Profound Scrunch AI
Need CDN or server-log AI bot-traffic detection GA4 can’t see ✓ ✓
Need native CDN integrations beyond Cloudflare, Vercel, Akamai (Fastly, AWS, GCP, Netlify) ✓ ✕
Need autonomous content Agents that draft AEO copy ✓ ✕
Need a published, self-serve paid entry price ✕ (free Trial only) ✓
Need DeepSeek or Exa Search in the tracked engine list ✓ ✕
Need demand-side data on what people actually ask AI ✓ ~ (topic-level AI Search Trends)
Need all-time history and daily refresh ✓ ~
Need ecommerce or shopping tracking ✓ (ChatGPT Shopping, Enterprise) ✓ (Shopping product)
Running an agency across several client brands ✓ (Agency Growth) ✓ (Agency Core)
Need a completed SOC 2 Type II audit ✓ ✓
Need bot-optimized page delivery served at the edge ✕ ✓ (Agent Pages)
Need the deepest review-volume social proof ✓ ✕
Need an independent, AEO-only vendor ✓ ✕
Need native fit with a Sitecore DXP stack ✕ ✓

Check = clear edge. Tilde = capable but not the stronger pick. Cross = outside the model.

Strengths & tradeoffs

Both platforms are still young products (2023 to 2024 launches) without a deep, independently verified review history. The honest comparison is what each one built its engineering effort around, and each side wins rows the other does not.

Axis Profound Scrunch AI
Scale and funding $335M total raised, $1.8B valuation (Series D, Sep 2026) $19M disclosed ($26M per about page), acquired by Sitecore
Ownership Independent, venture-backed Acquired by Sitecore June 2026 (reported $225M); continues standalone, features to be folded into Sitecore
Engine coverage (top end) Up to 9 engines on Enterprise, includes DeepSeek and Exa Search 8 to 9 platforms (Grok on the pricing page, coming soon in the FAQ), includes Meta AI, no DeepSeek
Engine coverage (entry tier) Free Trial covers 3 engines; no paid self-serve tier 7 platforms on Starter ($250 to $300/mo); 4 on the non-US Core plan
AI bot-traffic detection “Agent Analytics”: server logs plus 8 native CDN and hosting integrations Native Cloudflare, WordPress, Vercel, and Akamai, plus a Custom API
Content workflow AI Marketer and Agents draft AEO content Monitoring, auditing, and edge-serving only, no content authoring
Demand-side data “Prompt Volumes” panel data on real AI queries “AI Search Trends”, topic-level rather than a real user-prompt panel
Bot-facing delivery Recommendations only, no edge-served page variant Agent Pages (AXP) serve code-light pages to detected AI bots
Security posture SOC 2 Type II stated, SSO/SAML on Enterprise SOC 2 Type II audit completed, SAML 2.0/OIDC, RBAC, audit logs
Customer roster Ramp, Figma, MongoDB, Target, Walmart, DocuSign Lenovo, BairesDev, Clerk, Skims, Penn State
Public review volume G2 1,136 reviews, TrustRadius 13, 0 on Capterra G2 73 reviews, 0 on TrustRadius, 0 on Capterra
Reported user friction Steep learning curve, data-heavy UI, manual setup No bulk export, thin visualization/reporting, some reliability complaints

Ratings & track record

Metric Profound Scrunch AI
G2 rating 4.5 / 5 4.6 / 5
G2 reviews 1,136 (read October 2026) 73 (last read September 2026)
TrustRadius 8.5 / 10 (13 ratings) 0 reviews
Capterra reviews 0 0
Founded 2024 2023 (launched Nov 2024)
Total funding $335M ($1.8B valuation) $19M disclosed ($26M per about page)
Ownership Independent Sitecore (acquired June 2026, reported $225M)
Notable signal G2 Winter 2026 “Definitive Leader” in AEO (vendor’s own claim) SOC 2 Type II audit completed

Both companies launched their products within the last two to three years, so neither has the multi-year, thousand-plus-review track record that older SaaS categories take for granted. Profound’s G2 product page was read live on 20 October 2026 (4.5/5 across 1,136 reviews), Scrunch AI’s G2 figures come from the G2 product page last read September 2026 (4.6/5 across 73 reviews), and TrustRadius and Capterra were read on 21 October 2026. Capterra pools its figures with GetApp and Software Advice, so count it once. Both review pools are still young, so confirm current figures before treating either as a settled fact.

One more track-record note that will not show up in a ratings table: Scrunch AI is no longer an independent company. Sitecore acquired it in June 2026 for a reported $225M, and Sitecore’s stated plan is to keep Scrunch available standalone for existing customers while integrating its capabilities into the wider Sitecore platform. If you already run Sitecore, that is an advantage. If you do not, weigh how a suite owner is likely to prioritize a point solution against Profound, which is still independent and funding a dedicated AEO roadmap.

For teams comparing the wider AEO category rather than just these two, Profound and Scrunch AI each have their own alternatives roundups, and both tools also appear side by side in our broader AI visibility tools and AEO tools reviews.


Both tools’ data is sourced from publicly available information, checked October 2026. Profound’s G2 product page was read live on 20 October 2026; Scrunch AI’s G2 figures come from its G2 product page last read September 2026; TrustRadius and Capterra were read on 21 October 2026. Reconfirm live figures before purchase. Deal value for the Sitecore/Scrunch acquisition is Bloomberg’s reported figure; Sitecore did not disclose terms. This comparison is independent; we take no affiliate or referral fees from either vendor.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between Profound and Scrunch AI?

Profound is the independent, enterprise-first platform: real user prompt data, AI Marketer agents, up to nine engines, demo-gated pricing after a free Trial. Scrunch AI, now owned by Sitecore (June 2026), is monitoring-led from $250/month, and serves AI-optimized Agent Pages to detected bots at the network edge.

Profound vs Scrunch AI: which is better?

Profound fits enterprises that want real user prompt data, content agents, SOC 2, and up to nine engines, with demo-gated pricing. Scrunch AI fits teams that want published pricing from $250/month, site audits, and Agent Pages for AI bots. Neither has a deep review base; trial both on your own prompts.

Is Profound or Scrunch AI cheaper?

Scrunch AI publishes pricing: $250/month billed annually or $300 monthly (Starter), $417 or $500 (Growth). Profound lists a free Trial (50 prompts, 7 days, ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews) and a custom-priced Enterprise plan, with no paid self-serve tier. Some regions see a single $250 Core plan.

Which platform has more AI engines covered?

Close at the top end. Profound’s Enterprise tier lists up to nine engines and is the only one to include DeepSeek and Exa Search; Scrunch lists eight to nine (Grok is on the pricing page, coming soon in the FAQ) and is the only one to list Meta AI. Profound’s Trial covers three engines; Scrunch’s Starter lists seven.

Who tracks AI citations better, Profound or Scrunch AI?

Both track citations and sources. Scrunch collects data with browser automation plus official APIs; Profound says it runs every prompt through the front-end browser (vendor claim). No neutral accuracy test exists, so run the same prompts on both free trials and compare.

Does Profound or Scrunch AI have better historical data?

Profound’s Enterprise plan runs prompts daily and keeps all-time history; its free Trial keeps none. Scrunch runs new prompts daily for 14 days, then every 72 hours by default, and does not state a history period on its pricing page or FAQ; ask for it in the Trust Center.

Does Profound have an equivalent to Scrunch's Agent Pages (AXP)?

Not at present. Scrunch’s Agent Pages (part of AXP, generally available since September 2026) serve an AI-optimized version of a page to AI agents at the edge. Profound’s Agent Analytics tracks AI crawler traffic and attribution, and its Agents draft content, but no bot-facing page delivery is listed.

Does either tool detect AI bot traffic that Google Analytics misses?

Both do. Scrunch AI’s native integrations (Cloudflare, WordPress, Vercel, Akamai, Custom API) detect AI crawler visits at the network layer. Profound’s “Agent Analytics” does the same from server logs plus a wider set of CDN and hosting integrations (Akamai, AWS, Cloudflare, Fastly, GCP, Netlify, Vercel, WordPress).

Can either tool automatically publish content changes?

Profound is the one with a content-authoring layer. Its AI Marketer and Agents can draft AEO-oriented content. Scrunch AI’s public materials describe monitoring, auditing, and edge-serving an optimized page version to AI bots, but not autonomous content drafting.

Does Sitecore's acquisition of Scrunch AI matter when you buy?

It should factor in. Sitecore acquired Scrunch in June 2026 for a reported $225M, and has said existing customers can keep running Scrunch standalone while its features fold into Sitecore over time. That is a plus if you run Sitecore and a roadmap risk if you want an AEO-only vendor. Profound remains independent.

How reliable are the public review ratings for each tool?

Treat both as directional. Profound shows G2 4.5/5 (1,136 reviews, read October 2026) and TrustRadius 8.5/10 (13 ratings), with 0 on Capterra. Scrunch AI shows G2 4.6/5 (73 reviews, last read September 2026) and 0 on TrustRadius and Capterra. Both pools are young; confirm current figures before relying on either.

Sources and references

  1. Profound, homepage (accessed July 2026)
  2. Profound, pricing (accessed October 2026)
  3. Profound, integrations (accessed July 2026)
  4. Profound, Series C announcement (accessed July 2026)
  5. Profound, G2 Winter 2026 AEO leader post (accessed July 2026)
  6. Crunchbase, Profound organization profile (accessed July 2026)
  7. Fortune, Profound raises $96M Series C (accessed July 2026)
  8. Sequoia Capital, Profound partner profile (accessed July 2026)
  9. Capterra, Profound listing (0 reviews) (accessed July 2026)
  10. Profound, Series D announcement ($180M at $1.8B valuation, 1,000+ enterprise brands) (accessed October 2026)
  11. Scrunch AI, homepage (accessed October 2026)
  12. Scrunch AI, pricing (accessed October 2026)
  13. Scrunch AI, about ($26M raised, 500+ companies) (accessed October 2026)
  14. TechCrunch, Scrunch AI coverage (accessed July 2026)
  15. PitchBook, Scrunch AI company profile (accessed July 2026)
  16. The SaaS News, Scrunch AI raises $15M Series A (accessed July 2026)
  17. Scrunch AI Help Center, supported CDN integrations for Agent Traffic (accessed October 2026)
  18. Capterra, Scrunch AI listing (no reviews yet) (accessed July 2026)
  19. G2, Profound product reviews (4.5/5, 1,136 reviews) (accessed October 2026)
  20. Profound, Agent Analytics feature page (AI crawler tracking, CDN and server-log integrations) (accessed July 2026)
  21. Profound, Prompt Volumes feature page (accessed July 2026)
  22. Profound, REST API documentation (accessed July 2026)
  23. GlobeNewswire, Profound Series C release (700+ enterprises, Fortune 500 claim, named customers) (accessed July 2026)
  24. Scrunch AI, FAQ: which AI platforms and LLMs Scrunch tracks (accessed October 2026)
  25. Scrunch AI, FAQ: SOC 2 Type II compliance (accessed October 2026)
  26. TechTarget, Sitecore acquires Scrunch for answer engine optimization (accessed July 2026)
  27. TrustRadius, Profound reviews (8.5/10, 13 ratings) (accessed October 2026)
  28. TrustRadius, Scrunch AI reviews (0 reviews) (accessed October 2026)
  29. Scrunch AI, Agent Pages generally available (22 Sep 2026) (accessed October 2026)
  30. Scrunch AI, FAQ: methods Scrunch uses to collect data from AI platforms (accessed October 2026)
Omar Sheriff
Written by Omar Sheriff SEO Specialist, PipeRocket Digital

Omar is an SEO specialist with experience driving organic growth for B2B SaaS companies. As SEO Specialist at PipeRocket Digital, he focuses on on-page optimisation, content strategy, and BOFU intent — building programmes that turn search visibility into qualified pipeline.

View full profile
Kamaraj Mathiarasan (Kim)
Reviewed by Kamaraj Mathiarasan (Kim) Co-Founder, PipeRocket Digital

Kim is a dedicated SEO expert with over 15 years of experience helping B2B SaaS companies scale their organic presence. As Co-Founder of PipeRocket Digital, he focuses on high-impact SEO strategies, comprehensive content marketing, and revenue-focused optimization. Passionate about driving measurable growth, he builds scalable systems that turn organic traffic into meaningful pipeline.

View full profile
Still deciding?

Want an outside opinion before you commit?

This comparison is independent — we don't take referral fees from either agency. If you'd like a second read from a B2B SaaS specialist on which fits your stage, PipeRocket is happy to give you an honest one. No obligation.

Book Free Audit